Skip to content

Nigerian governors are of the opinion that elections may not hold in several north-west states as a result of the prevalent insecurity in the geopolitical zone.

North-west comprises seven states — Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, and Zamfara. It is reported that the governors shared their perspective with President Muhammadu Buhari in a policy brief.

The brief was part of the political economy situation review sent to the president in July 2022. The governors asked the president to expedite actions on various promises to address insecurity, according to a copy of the review seen by TheCable.

Source: The Cable